Features, Highlights

Rev Dr Wee Boon Hup re-elected TRAC President


THE Rev Dr Wee Boon Hup was re-elected President of Trinity Annual Conference (TRAC) at its 33rd Session at Paya Lebar Methodist Church. He received 86 votes on the second ballot on Nov 18, the second day of the session.

Shortly after the applause died down following the announcement of his re-election, he told the conference delegates: “Thank you for electing me for another quadrennium.

“Serving as President these past four years was a steep learning curve for me. I shall continue to work with those who worked with me.”

The second day of the session also saw the examination of three Elders-elect by Bishop Dr Robert Solomon. They were the Rev Christopher Chin Tet Lipp, the Rev Lynette Shakunthala Sathiasingam and the Rev Wendy Laura Watson, who were ordained by the Bishop during the Installation Ordination-cum-Closing Service in the church sanctuary on the evening of Nov 20.

Just before their ordination, Pastor David Gwee Hock Soon was ordained as a Deacon.

Earlier on, the Bishop installed the Rev Dr Wee as the TRAC President, who then installed Mr Kim Seah Teck Kim as the Vice-President. Mr Seah was also elected on the second day of the session.

Other key officers elected include Mr Edmund E as the Conference Lay Leader, the Rev Lim Jen Huat as the Conference Secretary and Mrs Patricia Khoo as the Chairman of the Board of Finance. The Rev Lim will continue to serve as the Pastor-in-Charge of Bedok Methodist Church.

A new District Superintendent has been appointed – the Rev Edmund de Souza, who is in charge of District Central. The District Superintendent East is the Rev Dr Kow Shih Ming and the District Superintendent West is the Rev Dr Jonathan Seet. Under TRAC’s Special Appointments, the Rev Lai Kai Ming was made Director of Youth Ministry. With him are three Assistant Directors – the Rev Bernard Chao, the Rev Khoo Kay Huat and Pastor Reuben Ng.

Several appointments were made through the Bishop’s Office. They include the Rev Kenneth Huang who was appointed as the Director, Ministry in Schools, with the Rev Chiang Ming Shun as the Associate Director.


Ordination of Elders and Deacon