Outreach, Welfare

MWS golf tourney rakes in more funds this year

Ms Janet Lim (left) and Ms Judith Chua (centre) of the Ladies’ champion team from Paya Lebar Methodist Church receiving the Rosalyn Tay Trophy from Mrs Lucy Toh. — MWS picture.

DESPITE the economic gloom, and the recent SARS crisis, more “funds per head” were raised at this year’s MWS Annual Golf Tournament.

With just 174 players (as against more than 220 last year), the tournament raised more than 20 per cent in terms of funds compared to last year. At the latest count, over $100,000 has come in, not to mention the generous support by prize and goody bag item sponsors. Truly God is faithful, and answers prayers.

Almost every golfer who participated walked away with something in hand, besides a good game on a cool cloudy afternoon at the scenic Palm Course of Raffles Country Club on Aug 29.

The Methodist Welfare Services is grateful to this year’s organising committee, led by Mr Terence Ng of Community Covenant Methodist Church, the convening church.

First organised in 1989, the MWS Annual Golf Tournament was primarily a way of enjoying fellowship on the greens. It has also evolved into one of the MWS’ major fund-raising events of the year.

The Guest-of-Honour, Mr Yeo Cheow Tong, Minister for Transport and MP for Hong Kah GRC, was unable to take part in the tournament as he was called for a Parliament sitting that same afternoon.

The Patron of the MWS, Bishop Dr Robert Solomon, attended the fellowship dinner that was held after the tournament.

Tribute was paid to two key supporters of the MWS, the late Dr Tay Eng Soon and the late Mr Edwin Chan, who each contributed much to the outreach work of the MWS during their lifetime, and who first mooted the idea of a charity golf tournament. A short PowerPoint presentation was made, and a minute of silence was observed in their memory.

Mrs Lucy Toh, daughter of the late Dr Tay, and Mrs Amy Chan, widow of Mr Chan, were the special guests for the evening. They presented the Tay Eng Soon Trophy (for the winning men’s golf team), the Rosalyn Tay Trophy (for the winning ladies’ team) and the Edwin Chan trophy for the Virtual Golf Tournament.
The “Virtual Tournament” was introduced for the first time, to inject additional fun to the event. Each golfer was paired up at random with another golfer – without either knowing – and their combined scores were then taken, and prizes were awarded to the winners – Mr Gabriel Moey Weng Foong (Grace MC) and Mr Wee Hian Woon (Toa Payoh MC).

In the Ladies’ Division, Ms Claire Ang of Cairnhill MC emerged the champion. In second position was Ms Ruth Wee of Kampong Kapor MC, and third was Ms Janet Lim of Paya Lebar MC. The Rosalyn Tay Trophy went to Paya Lebar MC.

Mr Ang Chong Huat was the Men’s A Division champion. Mr Daniel Soh Chye Wah of Christ MC came in second, and Mr Gabriel Moey Weng Foong of Grace MC was third.

In the Men’s B Division, Mr Peter Ng Teck Hwee of Christ MC was the champion. Second was Mr Jeffrey See, and third Mr Peter Wee. The Tay Eng Soon Cup went to Christ Methodist Church.